The Diocese

The Diocese of Toliara is in the southwest region of the island of Madagascar. It is a very young diocese although the proof of the first evangelization was in the 17th century. Only on 16 August 1897 did the Lazarist missionaries St. Vincent of Paul really begin to evangelize and then in November 1953 the Augustinians arrived. The Diocese of Toliara was proclaimed on 8 April 1957 with great progress in evangelization and with the arrivals of religious congregations (Camelites, Salesians of Don Bosco, Jesuits, Friars of the Scro Cuore, Congregation of the Holy Family, the Sisters of Saint Paul of Chartres: Toliara became an archdiocese on November 14, 2003.

The diocese has a surface of 43,570 square kilometers.

15 percent of the population who are Catholics. The majority are pagans.

The first bishop was Mgr Michel Canone, the second Mgr René RAKOTONDRABE, and the third and current archbishop is Mgr Fulgence RABEONY


The archiepiscopal see:

Maison Saint Jean

BP 30 Tsianaloka

601 Toliara



There are 6 parishes in the city:

  1. The Cathedral of St. Vincent of Paola in Tsianaloka
  2. Notre Dame de l’Assomption in Sanfily
  3. Sainte Thérèse of the Enfant Jésus in Bethany
  4. Notre Dame des Flots in Mahavatse
  5. French parish in Tsianaloka
  6. Jerosalema Vaovao in Antaravay


19 districts in the countryside: Belalanda-Mangily-Ifaty, Bas-Fiherena, Andranohinaly, St Augustin-Sarodrano-Ankilibe, Fotadrevo, Ambohimahavelo, Ampanihy West, Anakao, Andranovory, Androka, Benenitra, Ankililoaka, Belamoty, South Betioky, Bezaha, Sakaraha, South Manombo, Ejeda, Bevilany.

NB: Each district consists of more than ten small churches, even more than thirty for some.


Congregations and missionaries:

The Augustinians, the Jesuits, the Salesians of Don Bosco, the Friars of the Transfiguration, the Congregation of the Holy Family, the Friars of the Sacred Heart, the Friars of the Ecoles chrétiennes, the Sisters of St. Teresa of Avesnes, the Sisters of St. Paul of Chartres, the Sisters of Provvidence de Rouen, Sisters of the Holy Family, Franciscan Missionary Sisters of Mary, Sisters of the Immaculate Heart of Mary, Carmelite Sisters.

Diocesan priests: 33 priests